I am the Change

I’ve always been political.

When I was a child I believed what my parents believe and I believed it with the fervor and dedication of any new convert. I listened to their reasoning, their evidence, and I trusted their judgement. Of course, these were the same people who taught me Bible stories as history, not even a belief structure. Faith did not exist. This was fact.

Noah made an arc, and stuffed all the animals into it, in pairs. Jesus was born on Christmas. Absolute truth. It was the same with their politics. Just fact.

There wasn’t even a hint of the possibility of the existence of other beliefs. I had absolutely not a single clue that anyone felt any differently about anything. Politics, religion, music, etc. My life was very much like The Giver in that everything was one shade.

So, everything new I’ve experienced, every differing belief, behavior, or political standing has been an utter culture shock. Sure, I saw a lot of these things on television, but I was taught that TV is fake, so I dismissed all the shocking things as make believe. Democrats and atheists were as real to me as Planet of the Apes and Star Trek. Probably less so because my parents are big fans of science fiction and fantasy, so those were regarded with pleasure, approval, and a level of respect due a favorite.

And here I am. Almost 25 years old. A mother of two sons. I’ve lived on both coasts, driven through a good slice of the southern portion of our nation, met I don’t even know how many different people, been married twice and divorced once. My world experiences are more than triple what my parents’ collective experiences are, were, or ever will be. To say I’ve seen and been through a lot is a gross understatement.

My parents are still the same. Sure, they have Blackberries now and a rather large plasma TV, but their ideology has not changed even the slightest. Mine has been completely reformed multiple times. So needless to say, my perception of them has changed quite a bit as well.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my parents very much. They’re the only blood relations I have left in this world. But they could not be more wrong about so many things. I’m sorry, but liberal, conservative, or anything else, racism is wrong. Discriminating against people based on anything besides absolute, resolute and willful stupidity is wrong. Quite frankly, stupidity is the only thing that anyone has the ability to change. I don’t mean retardation, I mean being ignorant to the point where you don’t want to be informed. You cling desperately to your out-moded and incorrect belief and refuse to even entertain the idea of something new or better.

Just as it has been with giving women the ability to vote, civil rights, and everything else, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender equality is coming. LGBT people are just that. People. To tell someone that they cannot marry is to tell them that cannot love, which is to tell them that they are less than human.

Homosexuals aren’t destroying marriage, they’re saving it.

But I digress, my original point was simply this: I’ve always been political, but as I’ve gotten older my beliefs have changed. I don’t expect anyone to agree with me on everything. I don’t really expect anyone to agree with me on most things. But someone, somewhere agrees with me on a thing or two. I’m willing to be that no one is going to listen to me. I don’t care if anyone does. But I’ve gotten to the point where I cannot be silent. I must say these things. Eventually, people will join in.

“Be the change you want to see in the world.”
Mahatma Gandhi
Tell Me What You Think

